Early Years Foundation Stage at Northgate

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) forms the basis of your child’s school life. It is here where foundations are laid in a secure, consistent and caring environment taking account of their age and their previous experience.  Our aim is to ensure that your child settles happily into school and they feel secure within the learning environment.

As your child starts on their school journey we strive to foster a questioning approach and a love of learning. Your child will experience stimulating and exciting learning opportunities and be encouraged to grow in independence and confidence.  They will also begin to learn the skills needed to be successful lifelong learners.

Children learn best when school and home work together in the best interests of the child.  It is time, support and commitment that your child and the school need to ensure your child gets the best from their time at Northgate.

Northgate follows the Early Years Curriculum which is organised into three prime areas and four specific areas of learning. These are used by all the Foundation staff to plan the learning environment, activities and experiences to ensure all children flourish. 

Prime Areas of Learning
Specific Areas of Learning
  • Communication and Language
  • Literacy
  • Physical Development
  • Mathematics
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design 

The Foundation staff also record your child’s development against the Characteristics of Effective Learning. This is the ways in which your child engages with other people and the environment. They are broken down into three main areas

1.)   Engagement      2.) Motivation      3.) Thinking

They underpin learning and development across all areas and support your child to remain an effective and motivated learner.

Long Term Curriculum Planning
Cultural Capital